Scientific Review Committee

The quality and progress of LRI-financed research projects are assessed by the independent Scientific Review Committee, which advises the LRI on the approval and financing of research proposals.

Dr R.W. Truman (Chairman)

Immunologist and microbiologist. Former Chief of the Laboratory Research Branch of the National Hansen’s Disease Program, and Principal Investigator of the Leprosy Research Support program of the National Institutes of Allergy and Infectious Disease.
Expert on animal disease modelling and molecular techniques used to monitor genetic variation in leprosy bacilli, diagnose the infection and assess drug susceptibility of various clinical isolates. Primary research interests: elucidation of leprosy transmission networks and the role of zoonotic reservoirs in perpetuating leprosy

Dr J.H.M. Dekker (Member)

Rehabilitation Physician at Heliomare Rehabilitation Centre at Red Cross Hospital in The Netherlands.

Tropical Medicine work experience in Tanzania; Regional Tuberculosis and Leprosy Coordinator of Netherlands Leprosy Relief in Tanzania.

Dr G.J. Ebenezer (Member)

Assistant Professor, Neurology Department, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, USA.

Previously, Head of the Histopathology Department, Schieffelin Leprosy Research and Training Center (SLRTC), India.

Dr Bassey E. Ebenso (Member)

Research Fellow, Leeds, Institute of Health Science, United Kingdom. Public health specialist and inter-disciplinary researcher focusing on health policy and systems research in lower income countries.

Current research interests:health policy analysis,e-Health, user involvement in healthcare,CBR,health-related stigma research, and organization of health services in developing countries.

Prof. Dr V.P.M.G. Rutten (Member)

Associate Professor at Department of Infectious Diseases and Immunology, University of Utrecht and Extraordinary Professor at Department of Veterinary Tropical Diseases, University of Pretoria.

Prof. Dr P.D. Deps (Member) 

Full Professor at Department of Social Medicine, Postgraduate Programme in Infectious Diseases, Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brasil

Prof. F. Portaels (Member)

Institute of Tropical Medicine, Antwerp (ITM) Professor Emeritus
Expertise in: Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology. Longstanding involvement in research in Buruli ulcer and also knowledge of leprosy with expertise/interest in microbiology and epidemiology.

Prof. P. Fine (Member)

Professor Emeritus of Communicable Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Dr Z.B. da Silva Pereira (Member)

Adjunct Associate Professor (External Professor), Psychology Department, Federal University of Santa Maria, Brazil